When the Cat’s Away…

The dogs will come and stay?

I don’t think that’s the way it goes – but that’s the way it’s happened.

Meet Shrimp (clever, I know…):

He showed up at our front door this evening. I thought he was a fox at first glance and was kind of excited at the imagery of raising a wild fox. (I don’t get out much…)

I combed the “neighborhood” looking for someone looking for him.  Nada. The few folks I spoke with told me that he was likely “dumped off” by someone who didn’t want him anymore for some reason or another. One kindly soul, who happened to be walking a dachshund that she’s temporarily fostering for a rescue group, told me that she gets at least four or five cats, two or three dogs, and a handful of other critters dumped at her place every year. She believes the “dumpers” should be locked up – maybe they should make them stay in the pound for a while. I wonder if anyone would claim them?

Poor fella – I couldn’t stand the thought of him sleeping in the cold tonight, shivering his little paws off. So he’s bunking with us. And by bunking I mean he is currently curled up on the chair behind me. Snoring. Snoring and dreaming.

I can’t take him anywhere until at least Tuesday and I am not sure I am real fond of my first option anyway. He’s very sweet, lap-doggish but not yippy, seemingly potty-trained (potty-trained? That’s a child, not a dog. Poor Noah, I will likely tell people he’s housebroken…), very good with big dogs (because Grits is very vicious – ha!), and likes little people. He would make an excellent little companion…

I think I just convinced myself to keep him. Theoretically.

If anyone is interested or knows of someone who might be, please let me know. I would love to give him to someone who will love him and take care of him. He’s a charming little fella…

Grits, you are a dog. Not a cougar. Relax.

One response

Leave a Reply

