Scrub-a-Tub-Tub

I mentioned “green cleaning” a few days ago, have had a couple of folks quest for more information, and thought I would share a wonderfully earth+kid-friendly Tub Scrub recipe. I wish I could take credit for it, but alas, there are many and much wiser women who have gone before me and laid down a sudsy trail to follow.

Small but mighty, move over chickens, it’s time to talk about green cleaning.

 

This particular recipe comes from “make your place: affordable, sustainable nesting skills”:

Soft Scrub

1 cup baking soda
3-5 drops tea tree oil
1/4 cup liquid castile (Dr. Bronner’s is what I used)
2 aspirins
Mix all ingredients together & add enough water to make a paste. Keep in shampoo bottle. To use, apply with a sponge, scrub, & rinse thoroughly.

There is nothing I dread more than cleaning, especially the bathroom. As soon as I got this stuff concocted- and how convenient, it’s made of things I had readily available – I scurried to the bathtub and got to scrubbing. Our shower has never sparkled so brightly or smelled so fresh – mmm!  Chris couldn’t let me have all the fun so he joined in and cleaned the sink. Party in the potty!

I won’t vow to fall in love with cleaning, but it is immensely satisfying to have a clean home achieved with non-toxic cleaners. Good for me, good for you, good for little people.

If you’d rather leave the science lab to the professionals, Mrs. Meyer’s is definitely the way to go. We’ve been using her stuff since we lived in the midwest and we’ve brought her along our journey every step of the way – maybe even converted a few folks in the meantime.

Now, if I could only figure out how to convince Mrs. Meyer to come to my house…

Leave a Reply

