Herbs the Word

I would like to think of myself as creative person, an artist even – usually.  I can sew, write, crochet, cook, bake, photograph (decently), felt, etc. to the extent that I would give someone one of the aforementioned creations.

What about painting, you ask?

Not. So. Much.

But that’s okay – because if I weren’t as bad as a two-year-old, blindfolded with their arms tied behind their back I would have never had (what I think) is this genius idea for an herb drying rack:

Putting on the finishing touches…

Drying: chives, oregano, & thyme

So this canvas was supposed to be a solid color with the words “Happiness is not a destination, it is the Journey” – inspired by an overpriced, “Made in China” version we saw last weekend in a store that shall remain anonymous. It was not my best work, so I slathered on a few more layers of reds to cover the words not really knowing what I wanted to do with it. It was about 10pm and I started scurrying about the house looking for eyelets and wire, totally focused on the goal – and voila! an herb drying rack.

I was so impressed with myself that I made two more 8×16’s  – one which is headed out to a special someone tomorrow. As soon as canvases go on sale again I will be racking up, whipping ’em up, and putting them in the shop to sell. If the Farmer’s Market (or booth already there) will have have me, I will try and sell them there as well.

How much would you pay for kitchen art with a purpose?

Sidenote: Herbs are great when dried. Hang the rack in a sunny and dry place – snip some  fresh herbs from your garden or buy some from your local market, bundle them up and hang with a clothespin, wait a couple weeks, then store your dried herbs in a glass jar. Use half the amount in recipes when using dry vs. fresh. Some good herbs to dry: thyme, oregano, sage, mint, dill, chives, rosemary, lavender…

One response

  1. Pingback: May (or May Not) « Produced Locally

Leave a Reply

