CSA: In the Box (Week 3)

The Dixie Lee Farmers’ Market delivers again – adding to the veggie selection cucumbers (one of my fave!), broccoli, cilantro, & beans. After a stop at Earth Fare for a couple Grainger County tomatoes (local to Knox), lime, 

and a jalapeno, I whipped up this amazing recipe from the The Pioneer Woman Cooks (if you don’t own this book, you just aren’t living yet).  At least your tastebuds aren’t…

Pico de Gallo (Ree Drummond – The Pioneer Woman)


 
Yellow or red onions
Tomatoes
Cilantro
Jalapenos
Lime
Salt
 
1. Dice up an equal amount of tomatoes, onions, and cilantro.
2. Slice a jalapeno in half. With a spoon scrape out the seeds. Dice very finely.
3. Dump the four ingredients into a bowl.
4. Slice a lime in half and squeeze the juice in the bowl.
5. Sprinkle with salt and stir together until combined. Be sure to taste the pico de gallo and adjust the seasonings.
 

We have been crafting this recipe since last spring and can never get enough. I like this recipe best when the tomatoes are in season and local – not hydroponic or green house ‘maters. It makes all the difference in the world

(literally) when you use fresh and local goodness.

Equally as exciting, in many ways, is the way we brought our loot home from the market this week. Some of you folks may have received a crochet gift from me in years past. Chances are if you all compared notes you would learn that you all were gifted a lovely scarf or (feeble) attempt at a hat – that’s because I don’t know how to read

crochet patterns. At all. I think my scarves are delightful, but the buck stopped there – until now.

Call it inspiration or my competitive nature to not be defeated (by my mother’s crochet ability or my lack of following directions well), I found this pattern yesterday and kept at it until I ended with this:

Crochet Market Basket

This might be my new favorite thing to make (until the next thing I make, of course).  One, because I’ve proven to myself that I can read a pattern, 2) because it is super easy to whip up – which makes me one step closer to potentially having a table at the market, and 3. because how flipping cute and sustainable to carry home my beloved produce!

I am halfway through my second market basket – this time in red and slightly different fiber.

I promise I won’t neglect the rest of my life to crochet. Today.

 
 
4 responses

  1. You should DEFINITELY have a table at your market! Use Noah to lure people in with his cuteness and than WhAMO, they walk away realizing they just purchased a skirt, crocheted market bag and some eggs.

    • Hey thanks! When I do I would love to explore the idea of selling some of your goodness as well if you were at all interested… I will keep you posted.
      And yes, the cute kid never hurts. He already has quite the following at the market.

  2. Thanks for the recipe Beth. I’ve been meaning to bug you about it. Is this the one I love so much? I’m so proud of your market basket and the time and patience you found to do it.

Leave a Reply

