CSA: In the Box (Week 6&7)

Clearly I am behind on sharing the wealth of CSA goodness – not because it isn’t scrumptiously satisfying, of course. We have been like a small hive of bees around here, buzzing around all over the place. I like the busyness and bustle, however, that’s about all I can muster the energy for…

Enough with the excuses and justifications.

Yesterday was an especially exciting CSA pickup & market day for me because I got to go on my own (the boys were left sleeping at the house) and because we were having the summer staff (about 20 folks) over for an appreciation supper for all of their hard work and love they’ve poured into camp the past several weeks. There is something wildly satisfying about feeding a brood of folks as close to “farm to fork” as possible on a budget. Especially when they are mostly college kids who eat out of boxes and the frozen section most of the year.

Even with the extra squash, lettuces, peaches, berries, & tomatoes that came home in my basket, my favorite purchase at the Market yesterday was a non-edible goodness that I have been eying for several weeks:

Fresh cut flower vase by Stony Clay Station Pottery

I love fresh cut flowers – even of the weed variety. I pulled off the side of the road just last week to bring home some purple, vine-ish flowers & a few white baby’s breathish type flower (picture above) for a mason jar on my kitchen table. I had big plans of doing the same yesterday on my journey home to fill up my new handmade vase, had my spot picked out in my head, and lo and behold when I got back this way the county mowers had plowed down my little purple specks of loveliness. Sad day.

No worries. I still love fresh cut flowers (as you can see – I had to improvise this time. I stopped at our local florist and bought a few fresh stems from her…). And really love my new vase. Check out Stony Clay Station on Facebook or stop by the Dixie Lee Farmer’s Market – they are usually a front table at the market.

Back to the edible goodness.

A couple of weeks back we had turnips in our share box.

  1. I hate turnips. Always have. (No, mom. I will not try them again. I am 20-something and know that I do not like them. Thanks.)
  2. I have never cooked them before, except the time that I pureed them for the boy and that went horribly wrong. Which brings me to #3…
  3. I don’t think anyone in my familia will partake in the rooty grub.

So what’s a southern gal to do?

Fry them, of course!

A Little Bit of Turnip Fries

Handful of turnips
Salt
Paprika
Garlic Salt
Olive Oil
Fresh Parmesan Cheese (grated)
  1. Wash and peel turnips. Slice into “french fry” size pieces.
  2. Toss the turnip pieces in a bowl of olive oil, coating them well.
  3. Combine dry ingredients in a plastic bag. Throw in turnips and shake, shake, shake until turnips are coated well in mixture.
  4. Place turnips on a baking sheet and put in a preheated oven (425) for about 20 minutes. The outside should be nice and crispy, the inside tender and warm.
  5. Serve with a dill dipping sauce or homemade ranch.

Frying something you don’t know what to do with is always a good choice.

Most always a good choice.

There are a few exceptions

One response

Leave a Reply

