The Better Me (pt. 5 & 6)

If this were a phone voicemail this would be my greeting:

Hi. You’ve reached Beth’s blog.  I’m sorry I missed your call yesterday. I was strung out on a caffeine stupor and couldn’t stop crafting. For more information see my first goal for 2012. I will do my best to not let it happen again. Thank you for being a faithful reader. Have a great day. 

I’m glad to report that I’ve only consumed my morning cup o’joe and am fully able to type… for now. I make no promises for the rest of this 12 hour time slot.

Speaking of promises, I’m doubling up today.

In light of our ever-changing circumstances and backdrop, I am attempting to keep things fresh by:

Trying five new (or new to me/haven’t done in the past ten years) activities in 2012. 

Living back in north Florida, I’ve got some ideas flowing – taking a yoga class, stand up paddling (helloooo Delray), sea kayaking, hiking the western end of the Florida Trail, watching the Blue Angels fly, learn to ride a road bike, starting/joining a crochet/knitting group, etc. – and I would love for you to weigh in on what you think I should take up – even if only once – this calendar year.

And because the above goal will perhaps influence this one, I’ve listed them together, but seperate:

Start (and continue) an invigorating, captivating, and non-boring  exercise method – three times a week. 

I hate the gym. I am too ADD for videos. I get bored with the same old thing day after day. Conundrum.

I’ve never been accused of being coordinated or graceful or being able to move to the rhythm of the beat, so I probably need to start slow – baby steps. I’m thinking yoga, hoop dance, and some good old fashioned bike riding will be first on the list to give a whirl.

What do you do to get your endorphins flowing that I should try?

P.S. Here is a little sneak peak of my top-secret project and proof of my caffeine-induced productivity yesterday:

20120108-120329.jpg

Who knew the loophole of Goal #1 would benefit Goal #2?

Stay tuned for the finished product – if you’ve got new babies – yours or ones you borrow – in your future, you will want one of these. All the cool babies are doing it…

One response

Leave a Reply

